A Trader's Education
A Trader's Education Podcast
Semiconductors are the Future
0:00
-2:06

Semiconductors are the Future

Plus, a set up in the sector that has the potential to break out soon.

I can’t stop talking about semiconductors. Even when I’m not talking about them, I am thinking about them.

I am an optimist, and this sector gives me a reason to be positive.

I like it for the long term. Everything has chips built in and demand is at all-time highs. I think this sector could lead the way to higher highs.

Looking at the charts, the Vaneck Semiconductor ETF ticker SMH has recovered back above the 50-day simple moving average (SMA).

It is also positioned nicely to launch off of the volume shelf right where its at, between $151-$152.

Targeting the August high of $157.62 but first need to see it hold up above the 50-day SMA.

NVDA led the way Wednesday, outperforming and up over 2.5%. Closing just below $470 it is still a little ways away from $500 but getting closer.

If NVDA does pull back I’d like to see $455 show some support.

Meanwhile AMD is setting up for a potentially big move higher.

Breaking out of the falling wedge, it paused on Wednesday but is still well above it’s 50-day SMA and RSI is strong. MACD is also curled up nicely and going positive.

Targeting $111.82 first and if AMD can keep momentum going, $116.81 after that.

A name that is setting up to follow the same pattern as AMD is ON Semiconductor.

ON just broke out of its wedge but closed just below the 50-day SMA. I would like to see a strong push through this $95 level with a close firmly above the moving average before diving in.

That said, I really like this set up. Here’s the chart.

Daily candles for ON look ready to break out.

Short and sweet this morning with thoughts of more upside.

First, we have to see how markets digest the CPI data that comes out this morning. I was surprised at the resilience on Wednesday, maybe we see more strength.

I sure would welcome it.

Thanks for tuning in! I appreciate your support of A Trader’s Education and hope you have a great day!


If you enjoy the podcast, be sure to watch live every Sunday on YouTube where I host The Trading Triangle with friends Shaun and Kaye.

Also check out the A Trader’s Education Newsletter for weekly breakdowns of trading strategies and trade ideas.

Share


This service is for general informational and educational purposes only and is not intended to constitute legal, tax, accounting or investment advice. These are my opinions and observations only. I am not a financial advisor.


0 Comments
A Trader's Education
A Trader's Education Podcast
Conversations about building wealth with a focus on trading stocks and options. Plus, weekly chart reviews where we analyze market performance and charts for a variety of stocks and ETFs every Sunday.